Career Dev Prompt #7: Annual Leave Record Keeping

Prompt7-diycareerdev

I am afraid that it has been all quiet on the blog while I have been ill and for that I apologise. I am kicking off again today with another Record Keeping Prompt. Last time I blogged about keeping records for your CRB checks. This time I want to prompt you to keep records on your sick leave and annual leave. If your Employer has odd Sick or Annual Leave Policies it is also worth noting down the rules for these as well.

You may think – why bother? My employer should have a record anyway, but you never know when it might come in useful.

I find them a useful bargaining tool (to use at appraisals, when getting afternoons off or requesting extended accumulated leave) and of course the records are a useful self-analysis tools (are you taking enough time off?) and can be used to plan ahead and make sure you are not losing any days at the end of the entitlement year.

Subscribers of our Career Development Prompts Premium Plan will be able to download our 2014 Annual Leave Insert/printable which is available in both a5 and personal size.

Leave a Reply

