Why bother with a Routine Task List?

 

You may be wondering why I use a routine task list at all,
and why I recommend that you use one too.

Well let me start by saying that this process only works
well, if YOU work well with lists. If to-do lists and checklists are not really
your thing this method probably is not really for you. However, the odds are if
you are reading this blog you work well with paper-based organisational systems
such as notebooks, Filofaxes and binders – which usually incorporate Lists.

The choice to use a routine task list in part comes from the
fact that I know I work well with lists but it is more than that:

  • a routine task list forms the outline for my to-do list. It is based on regular tasks that I do and creates a routine out of them.
  • It gives me a starting point so I don’t procrastinate while working out what to do first – this list starts me off. (it also stops the ‘what to do next moments’).
  • It creates a habit. The routine becomes a habit.
  • It can be personalised – I tweak it every month based on what works well and
    what doesn’t – additionally I can choose to focus heavily in a particular
    area of my life should I need to – for example August and September were focussed on career development, whereas October and November will have a writing focus.

In summary, having a
list makes my free time more targeted and cuts down on idle and unnecessary
procrastination while having the flexibility to mould and adapt to my lifestyle
and working practices.

Leave a Reply

